2002 Hockey Team Inducted into Prep Hall of Fame

On January 30, 2015, the 2002 Hockey Team was inducted into the Georgetown Prep Hall of Fame. http://www.gprep.org/page.cfm?p=363&newsid=193

2002 Hockey Team
Under the guidance of first-year head coach Brian Maloney, the 2001-2002 varsity hockey team achieved unprecedented success. With a record of 13-3, the team won the program’s first Interstate Athletic Conference (I.A.C.) championship in school history and finished ranked third in the state of Maryland, only behind Mount St. Joseph’s and DeMatha. Prior to the 2001-2002 season, no Prep hockey team had ever beaten Landon. On January 30, 2002, after losing earlier in the season to the Bears in the Purple Puck tournament finals, the Hoyas dominated Landon 4-1 in the I.A.C. championship game. The team was captained by Rory Hyland ’02, Phil O’Donoghue ’02, and Kyle Keller ’03.

Other inductees were:

Matt Whalen ’69
Rick Macsherry ’71
General Gilmary Michael Hostage III ’73
Jack Railey ’75
Brian Cashman ’85
Greg Tomasso ’93
Bret Thompson ’02

Go Hoyas Hockey!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.